My 5 favorite (almost) Cruelty-free products!

formakeupblog

Finding cruelty-free products can be complicated, not to mention expensive. Sites like Beauty without Cruelty and Leaping Bunny offer detailed shopping lists of brands that do not test on animals. But be aware that some brands may not test their finished products on animals but do buy bulk ingredients from businesses that test the ingredients on animals.

While no one wants to think about poor bunnies and mice in cages being slathered with make up, the public needs to be proactive in proposing ways to test products and medicine using alternatives to animals. Web search petitions (or start one) that want to end animal testing by providing alternatives.

Here I will point out some of my favorite products mentioned above with a few detailed notes.

1. tarte. Tartlette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette.

This product was used on my at my local Sephora, tarte is one of the few brands carried by Sephora that do not test on animals. Their testing procedures are regulated by PETA who places tarte, cosmetics on their list of companies who do not test. However, tarte is not on Leaping Bunny’s list of companies who are completely cruelty free.

My rating —> Love! The colors are all very natural and depending on how much is layered on can create a very natural or daring nude eye. The 12 colors have almost no shimmer, which can look too fancy for daytime, and range from light nudes, to pretty mauves, to darker, defining browns and blacks. 4/5

2. Nourish Organics Argan Oil, etc.

This product was available at my local GMC. Nourish Organics is on Leaping Bunny cruelty free list. While the Nourish website does not have any easy to find information on their animal testing status, the Leaping Bunny logo can be found on the packaging.

My rating —> Love! The oil is very thin but a little goes A LONG WAY. The smell is very subtle and light and wont compete with any perfumes or essential oils. It’s great for taming fly-aways or putting some nice shine into dull hair. Don’t use too much though, it’s a beast to brush out. 5/5

3. Earthlab Cosmetics Raw Mascara.

  This was in my stocking for Christmas but is available for purchase at my local health-food store. It is also available online on their website. Earth lab is a Canadian company that claims to be cruelty-free. However, their website does not offer any kind of endorsement or proof. I don’t like waste so I feel guilty just throwing new mascara away. Mascara is only good for three months anyway.

My rating —> Like it A lot! Unfortunatly, even though it may be tested on animals. The natural mascara’s texture is wonderfully clay-like but doesn’t flake or smudge. It doesn’t smell funny or get into my eyes and bother my contact lenses. I can’t recommend it because it’s Cruelty free status is non-defined but I felt like it was a good natural product to bring up. I’ll continue my search for something comparative. 3/5

4. Wet n Wild Icon Eye and Brow Pencil.

 This little gem is a personal favorite going on almost ten years! PETA has this company on their list of companies that don’t test on animals. While it’s not listed on Leaping Bunny, they make this testament on their website.

“wet n wild never has and never will test on animals! We are a Peta-certified, cruelty-free brand and we make it a point to work with other cruelty-free, third-party vendors to bring you affordable products that no one would be ashamed to use. Most wet n wild products are gluten-free and vegan as well!” – http://wnwbeauty.com/vipmembers/?p=401

 As a bonus, this brand maintains low-cost, high-quality make up available almost everywhere. I usually by it from Walmart or Walgreens, where the cost is only 99 cents!

My rating —-> So much love! It’s cheap, it works, and as long as you are willing to practice, will give you a beautiful look. I use Brown or Dark Brown on my eyes and Taupe for my brows. This product is always in my make up bag. 5/5

5. Nyx wonder pencil and concealer pen.

 Even though this cruelty-free company was bought by the much larger company L’Oreal (who are not listed on PETA or Leaping Bunny, hint hint) Nyx released a statement that their company will continue to not test ingredients or products on animals. PETA still lists them as a non-animal-testing company and this great blog had some good information about the acquisition http://elephant-room.org/index.php?route=blog/article&article_id=29.

So for all intensive purposes, Nyx is still cruelty-free.

My rating —> Like it a lot! It’s great for lining the inside of your bottom eyelid to brighten up your eyes and get that wide-eyed look. It’s good for a quick fix when you see a new zit come to the surface and it works ‘wonders’ for covering dark spots and nearly healed curling iron burns if you get a little clumsy like me. It’s a little hard to match exactly but some blending helps. 4/5

Well, that’s the end. I hope this gives you a little insight to cruelty free and puts a few more products on your cosmetic wish lists (as if it’s not a long list already ha ha)

Hope this Hump-day is a peaceful one!

 Mrs. Gold

I did not receive any compensation or free products for these reviews. Each review is based on facts found on organization websites and my experience with the product. Thank you.

 UPDATE – the ‘my favorite splurge’ sticker was supposed to go onto the tarte palette. sorry!

6 thoughts on “My 5 favorite (almost) Cruelty-free products!

Leave a comment